The new heartwarming wartime saga in the Home Fires series, perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke and Annie Groves.In the midst of World War II, the members of one village WI fight harder than ever to help the war effort . . .But behind closed doors, each is fighting a more personal battle.Pat Simms is reeling from her own role in her abusive husband's death, and the new freedom before her is daunting. Sarah Collingborne is struggling with the absence of her husband, who is stranded in a POW camp abroad, and trying her best to fill his treasured place in the village.Meanwhile, Teresa Lucas is anxious about her future as a parent, and her friend Alison Scotlock is on the verge of starting a new relationship. And Miriam Brindsley's good luck might be about to change . . .Grieving for men already lost and anxious for those still away fighting, the women of Great Paxford must rely on each other. Amidst the complexities of broken relationships, loss and friendship, this group of very different women must work together to find a way through.

A woman's courage - Simon Block

9781785765674
£ 3.39
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
A woman's courage
Author
Simon Block
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Zaffre
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20210107

The new heartwarming wartime saga in the Home Fires series, perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke and Annie Groves.In the midst of World War II, the members of one village WI fight harder than ever to help the war effort . . .But behind closed doors, each is fighting a more personal battle.Pat Simms is reeling from her own role in her abusive husband's death, and the new freedom before her is daunting. Sarah Collingborne is struggling with the absence of her husband, who is stranded in a POW camp abroad, and trying her best to fill his treasured place in the village.Meanwhile, Teresa Lucas is anxious about her future as a parent, and her friend Alison Scotlock is on the verge of starting a new relationship. And Miriam Brindsley's good luck might be about to change . . .Grieving for men already lost and anxious for those still away fighting, the women of Great Paxford must rely on each other. Amidst the complexities of broken relationships, loss and friendship, this group of very different women must work together to find a way through.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

S. Block, the creator and writer behind the Home Fires TV series watched by over six million viewers, is a BAFTA award-winning writer who's been nominated for the Royal Television Society Awards and the British Comedy Awards. He's worked on TV shows such as New Tricks, Lewis, Wire in the Blood, Hotel Babylon and The Inspector Lynley Mysteries, as well as shows for NBC and ABC.

Among other jobs he was an elephant keeper at London Zoo, a London bus driver and is the current director of the North London branch of The Samaritans. Simon was born in London and lives there with his wife and sons.

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - England - Cheshire - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
384

FREE Delivery on all Orders!