Hurry, item low in stock!

Dark pines - Will Dean

9781786072535
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Dark pines
Author
Will Dean
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Point Blank
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20180104

Selected for ITV's Zoe Ball Book Club and shortlisted for the Guardian's Not the Booker prize

A Daily Telegraph Book of the Year

'Will Dean's atmospheric crime thriller marks him out as a talent to watch. Dark Pines is stylish, compelling and as chilling as a Swedish winter.' Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

'Atmospheric, creepy and tense. Loved the Twin Peaks vibe. Loved Tuva. More please!' C.J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

For fans of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and Peter Heg's Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow, a brand new debut crime writer introduces a Scandi-noir Tuva Moodyson Mystery

SEE NO EVIL

Eyes missing, two bodies lie deep in the forest near a remote Swedish town.

HEAR NO EVIL

Tuva Moodyson, a deaf reporter on a small-time local paper, is looking for the story that could make her career.

SPEAK NO EVIL

A web of secrets. And an unsolved murder from twenty years ago.

Can Tuva outwit the killer before she becomes the final victim? She'd like to think so. But first she must face her demons and venture far into the deep, dark woods if she wants to stand any chance of getting the hell out of small-time Gavrik.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Will Dean grew up in the Midlands, living in nine different villages before the age of eighteen. He was a bookish, daydreaming kid who found comfort in stories and nature (and he still does). After studying at the LSE and working in London, he settled in rural Sweden. He built a wooden house in a boggy clearing at the centre of a vast elk forest, and it's from this base that he compulsively reads and writes.

'I LOVED Dark Pines. Loaded with atmosphere, brilliant on setting, and Tuva Moodyson just rocks. A fantastic debut.'


Mark Billingham, author of the Tom Thorne Novels

'The tension is unrelenting, and I can't wait for Tuva's next outing.'


Val McDermid, author of Splinter the Silence

'The best thriller I've read in ages.'


Marian Keyes, author of Anybody Out There

'Memorably atmospheric, with a dogged and engaging protagonist, this is a compelling start to what promises to be an excellent series.'


Guardian

'New author challenges the Scandi crime giants on their home soil with this strong contender set in wintry Swedish countryside.'


The Times and the Sunday Times Crime Club

'Will Dean's impressive debut shows that Nordic noir can be mastered by a Brit.'


The Times

'[Dark Pines] crackles along at a roaring pace... This is the first in a series, and Moodyson, whose deafness is handled sensitively by Dean, is a character whose progress is worth following.'


Observer Thriller of the Month

'A refreshingly different approach to Nordic Noir with a soupcon of Twin Peaks.'


Sunday Express

'[A] brilliantly written debut.'


HEAT

'A dark and gripping debut.an intriguing and distinctive addition to the Scandinavian Noir landscape.Dean is definitely an author to look out for in the future.'


Big Issue

'A murder mystery and a compelling one.a gripping read that will have you guessing to the end.'


Press Association

'Bravo! I was so completely immersed in Dark Pines and Tuva is a brilliant protagonist. This HAS to be a TV series!'


Nina Pottell, books editor for Prima Magazine

'This reads like a classic murder mystery, a nod to old school style books and I thought the pacing was spot on... I was totally caught up in this one, it had a quiet ferocity that reminded me of Ragnar Jonasson and fans of his work should definitely give this a try!'


Novelgossip

'Quite simply this is a brilliant novel and one that gripped me from page one.'


Crimenovelreader

'Evoke[s] the sinister atmosphere of the elk-haunted pines.'


Country Life Magazine

'An elegant and tautly written story, with a great sense of place, a likeable protagonist and a thrilling climax. I hope we hear a lot more of Tuva Moodyson in future.'


Bluebookballoon

'A haunting and visceral read. It is a book that oozes atmosphere and I loved it. I could almost smell the pine trees.'


Irish Mail on Sunday

'Will Dean brings the woods alive to the point that they're almost like another character in the book.This has to be the book you start 2018 waiting for, it's everything you want from Nordic Noir... Get Will Dean on your list of authors to watch out for, this is a name you don't want to forget!!'


Tattoo Stars

'Dark Pines is a gripping, tantalising, beautifully written thrill ride that heralds an extremely talented writer. Can't wait to read his next book just doesn't seem to cover it! Loved this wonderful book!'


Ronnie Turner

'A haunting example of stylish storytelling set in the northern wilds of rural Sweden... The heroine is Tuva Moodyson, a deaf young female reporter on the small town's local paper, who is as superbly evoked as the forest she is forced to investigate when a man is found shot dead in its midst... Dean never lets the tension drop as his story grows ever more sinister.'


Daily Mail

'Will Dean is a British author who now lives in a forest in rural Sweden so he's perfectly placed to write an atmospheric Scandi thriller - and, boy, does he deliver... Dark Pines is a 'just one more chapter' page-turner with bags of atmosphere, and a brilliant protagonist that I hope to see more of in the future.'


Daily Record - Lisa Gray

'A dark, compelling and character-driven thriller set in the wilds of Sweden - Dark Pines goes above and beyond the standard crime book, inviting the reader to a small Swedish town with brilliantly drawn characters and an intriguing mystery at the heart of events.'


The Bookbag

Type
BOOK
Edition
C format original
Keyword Index
Sweden - Fiction.|Detective and mystery stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
336

FREE Delivery on all Orders!