Hurry, item low in stock!

Dead Ground in Between - Maureen Jennings

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Dead Ground in Between
Maureen Jennings
Paperback / softback
McClelland & Stewart
UK Publication Date

From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-read for fans ofFoyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.

It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.
Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.
Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters--from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled--Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a page-turning mystery and a rich, satisfying reading experience.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Born in England, MAUREEN JENNINGS emigrated to Canada as a teenager. The first Detective Murdoch mystery was published in 1997. Six more followed, all to enthusiastic reviews. In 2003, Shaftesbury Films adapted three of the novels into movies of the week, and four years later theMurdoch MysteriesTV series was created; it is now shown around the world, including in the UK, the United States (asThe Artful Detective), and much of Europe, as well as on Canada's national broadcast network, CBC TV. The Detective Inspector Tom Tyler series, set in World War II-era England, got off to a spectacular start with 2011'sSeason of Darkness, followed byBeware This Boy(2012) andNo Known Grave(2014). Maureen lives in Toronto with her husband and their two dogs, Varley and Murdoch.

Praise for Maureen Jennings's DI Tom Tyler series:
"Amazingly vivid and terribly real." -- New York Times Book Review
"Great historical detail. . . . Another winner for Jennings. Fans of the Foyle's War TV series should rejoice." -- The Globe and Mail
"It's among Jennings's gifts that all her people are painted in full colours [and] Tom Tyler is the most complete and human of them all. . . . Verges on classic war-fiction status." -- London Free Press
"Readers will be swept away." -- Library Journal (starred review)

Country of Publication
Number of Pages

FREE Delivery on all Orders!