John Dowland - Dowland: Lachrimae

FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
John Dowland
CD / Album (Jewel Case)
Label / Studio
Brilliant Classics

This collection of instrumental music was published in 1604 in London. The work was dedicated to Anne of Denmark, as Dowland was in that period employed as lutenist of Christian IV of Denmark. The 'Lachrymae' present one of the deepest, most poignant and moving expressions of sorrow ever composed. The seven 'Lachrimae Pavans' each bear a title with reference to a different character: sad tears, lover's tears, old tears, sighing tears, true tears etc. The often melancholy (but how beautiful!) tone of the pavans is contrasted by the inclusion of other dance forms (galliards a.o.).

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) Antiquae ()
2) Novae Antiquae Novae ()
3) Gementes ()
4) Tristes ()
5) Coactae ()
6) Amantis ()
7) Verae ()
8) Semper Dowland Semper Dolens ()
9) Sir Henry Umpton's Funerall ()
10) Mr John Langton's Pavan ()
11) The King of Denmark's Galiard ()
12) The Earle of Essex Galiard ()
13) Sir John Souch His Galiard ()
14) Mr Henry Noel His Galiard ()
15) Mr Giles Hobies Galiard ()
16) Mr Nicholas Gryffith His Galiard ()
17) Mr Thomas Collier His Galiard ()
18) Captaine Digorie Piper His Galiard ()
19) Mr Buctons Galiard ()
20) Mrs. Nichols Almand ()
21) M. George Whitehead His Almand ()

Dowland: Lachrimae
RSK Entertainment
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Dowland: Lachrimae | John Dowland
Catalogue Number

FREE Delivery on all Orders!