Michel Pignolet de Monteclair - Ensemble Odyssee: Dancing With the Sun King



Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the musicMagpieStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
Michel Pignolet de Monteclair
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Pan Classics

Louis XIV (1638-1715) was the personal embodiment of France and he loved to dance. The king himself was a fine dancer and had many opportunities to demonstrate his skill at the multiple dance balls given at Versailles. Michel Pignolet de Mont�clair's 'S�r�nade en Concerts' is a collection of dances probably written for one such occasion. The collection is exceptional because it contains all the music that was performed in one evening, divided into three parts: 'Airs de fanfares', 'Airs tendres' and 'Airs champ�tres'. When Jean-F�ry Rebel, one of the violin players of the Vingt-quatre violons, wrote 'Les caract�res de la danse', he launched a new fashion. The piece was written for a solo female dancer who performed a rapid succession of different dances, completely changing character every few bars. The piece achieved great popularity.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) I. Marché Des Bergers ()
2) II. Branle ()
3) III. Gavotte ()
4) IV. Pastourelles I & II ()
5) V. Pantalonade En Rondeau ()
6) VI. Chalumeaux Rondeau ()
7) VII. Danse De Village ()
8) VIII. Passe-pied ()
9) Caprice ()
10) I. Sommeil ()
11) II. Sarabande ()
12) III. Gavotte ()
13) IV. Sarabande ()
14) V. Sommeil ()
15) Boutade ()
16) I. Ouverture ()
17) II. Trompettes ()
18) III. Fantaisie ()
19) IV. Passe-pieds I & II ()
20) V. Courantes I & II ()
21) VI. Rigaudons I & II ()
22) VII. Menuets I & II ()
23) Les Caractères De La Danse ()

Ensemble Odyssee: Dancing With the Sun King
Harmonia Mundi
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Ensemble Odyssee: Dancing With the Sun King | Michel Pignolet de Monteclair
Catalogue Number

FREE Delivery on all Orders!