Hurry, item low in stock!

A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson.

When a terrified young girl is discovered hiding in the back of a lorry, she is quickly taken into the care of social services. Arriving on the doorstep of foster carer Maggie Hartley, she is painfully thin, bruised and unable to speak a word of English. What atrocities has she escaped to bring her here?


Woken each night by the screams of Halima's nightmares, Maggie is desperate to reach this damaged young girl. But without a shared language, she fears that she may never uncover the truth behind her terror.

Can Maggie help Halima recover from the horrors she has endured, and help her build a new life for herself? Or will Halima forever be haunted by the ghosts of her past?

Groomed to be a bride - Maggie Hartley

9781409197430
£ 4.59
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Groomed to be a bride - can a loving foster carer protect a vulnerable young girl from the nightmares of her past?
Author
Maggie Hartley
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Seven Dials
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200806

A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Britain's most-loved foster carer, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson.

When a terrified young girl is discovered hiding in the back of a lorry, she is quickly taken into the care of social services. Arriving on the doorstep of foster carer Maggie Hartley, she is painfully thin, bruised and unable to speak a word of English. What atrocities has she escaped to bring her here?


Woken each night by the screams of Halima's nightmares, Maggie is desperate to reach this damaged young girl. But without a shared language, she fears that she may never uncover the truth behind her terror.

Can Maggie help Halima recover from the horrors she has endured, and help her build a new life for herself? Or will Halima forever be haunted by the ghosts of her past?

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Maggie Hartley has fostered more than 300 children while being a foster carer for over twenty years. Taking on the children other carers often can't cope with, Maggie helps children that are deemed 'unadoptable' because of their
behaviour or the extreme trauma that they've been through. She's looked after refugees, supported children through sexual abuse and violence court cases, cared for teenagers on remand and taught young mums how to parent their newborn babies.

Type
BOOK
Keyword Index
Foster home care - Great Britain.|Iraqis - Family relationships - Great Britain.|Forced marriage.|Child marriage.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
viii, 226

FREE Delivery on all Orders!