Hurry, item low in stock!

Himalayan portfolios - Kenneth Hanson

9780979059704
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Himalayan portfolios - journeys of the imagination
Author
Kenneth Hanson
format
Hardback
Publisher
Fields Publishing
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20090901

Dramatically immortalizing the breathtaking beauty and remote wilderness of one of the planet's last untamed frontiers, this intriguing photographic exploration of near inaccessible landscape and culture illuminates the starkly beautiful but often inhospitable Himalayan regions. Religiously documented over a 20-year period, these glorious, panoramic black-and-white images--including one breathtaking, 48-inch panorama--are the remarkable result of a dedicated and passionate fascination with the history and vistas of the Himalayas. Complemented by trekking maps of mountains, glaciers, and rivers--from the peaks of Kashmir, the Hidden Realm, and the Great Cleft of the Kali Gandaki to mighty Mount Everest in Tibet and Nepal--and accompanied by scholarly essays penned with scientific, geological, and spiritual analysis of the region, this stunning visual journey illustrates the Himalayas as an enduring emblem of man's ultimate challenge in nature.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

"With awesome images and insightful commentary, this significant book will engage both general and specialized audiences with various interests not limited to extreme experiences, mountaineering, and fine arts landscape photography. Strongly recommended."
--Library Journal

"This is one of the truly important books of landscape photography and right in the tradition of Ansel Adams and Timothy O'Sullivan. Extraordinary!"
--Lee A. Jacobus, author,
Volcanic Jesus

"An invaluable book for those who are thinking of going to the Himalayas, those who have been, and for those who wish to explain to others why they went."
--Bart Jordans, author,
Bhutan: A Trekker's Guide

Type
BOOK
Edition
1st Edition
Keyword Index
Photography of mountains - Himalaya Mountains Region.|Landscape photography - Himalaya Mountains Region.|Himalaya Mountains Region - Pictorial works.
Country of Publication
Massachusetts
Number of Pages
190

FREE Delivery on all Orders!