Hurry, item low in stock!

Only love can break your heart - Katherine Webber

9781406369052
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Only love can break your heart
Author
Katherine Webber
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Walker Books and Subsidiaries
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20180802

From the author of the acclaimed Wing Jones comes a 'break-up' book about a Japanese-American teenager, set in the Palm Springs desert, California. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Sara Barnard's Beautiful Broken Things.

Sometimes a broken heart is all you need to set you free.

Reiko loves the endless sky and electric colours of the Californian desert. It is a refuge from an increasingly claustrophobic life of family pressures and her own secrets. Then she meets Seth, a boy who shares a love of the desert and her yearning for a different kind of life. But Reiko and Seth both want something the other can't give them. As summer ends, things begin to fall apart. But the end of love can sometimes be the beginning of you...

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

KATHERINE WEBBER is a young-adult and children's author. Her debut YA novel was the critically acclaimed Wing Jones.

Katherine loves books and travel. (At last count, she'd been to 48 countries and six continents!) She was born in Southern California and spent much of her childhood in the Palm Springs desert and it is still one of her favorite places in the world. She has since lived in Hong Kong, Hawaii, and Atlanta. She currently lives in London with her husband, Kevin Tsang, with whom she co-writes the young illustrated fiction series Sam Wu is Not Afraid.

Katherine studied comparative literature at the UC Davis, and Chinese literature and language at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. She has worked at an international translation company, a technology start-up, and a reading charity. She spends far too much time on Twitter, so she invites you to come say hello: @kwebberwrites.

[.] this book ripped out my heart, stomped on it and then revived it with an electric jolt. But I loved every second of it.
booksfemme

It's a very bittersweet story and it's also one of the few books that made me cry so much I had to stop for a moment and wipe away the tears at 4am. [.] This has become one of my favourite books and every time I think about it, my heart smiles.
thegalwholivesofbooks

[Webber] has a real talent for creating nuanced teenage characters
The Bookseller

Another author with a talent for connecting with teenage readers is Katherine Webber. Japanese-American Reiko navigates love and grief amid the claustrophobia of family expectations and peer pressure in Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Walker, 7.99), set in the California desert. It's familiar emotional territory for contemporary young adult fiction but Webber's complex, nuanced protagonist feels real and is memorable.
The Observer

"It's familiar emotional territory for young adult fiction but Webber's complex, nuanced protagonist feels real and is memorable."
The Observer

"Moving and bittersweet, have the tissues ready. This book will break your heart as well, but in the end, you will be so glad it did."
Fallen Star Stories

"[.] a stunningly emotionally charged tale of grief, family, strength and self-discovery with one of the most realistic romantic relationships I have ever read."
Becky's Blogs

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
Japanese Americans - California - Palm Springs - Fiction.|Love stories.|Young adult fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
385

FREE Delivery on all Orders!