Hurry, item low in stock!

Plays 4 - Arthur Miller

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Plays 4
Arthur Miller
Paperback / softback
Bloomsbury Methuen Drama
UK Publication Date

The fourth volume of Miller's plays reissued to coincide with the publication of the sixth and final volume of his plays in the Methuen Drama World Classics series. The volume features an introduction by the author and a chronology of his work.

Arthur Miller's two early plays,The Golden Years, a historical tragedy about Montezuma's destruction at the hands of Cortez, and The Man Who Had All the Luck, a fable about human freedom and individual responsibility, are brought together in this volume. It also features two of his contemporary shorter plays, I Can't Remember Anythingand Clara, first presented on a double bill as Danger! Memory. The latter focus on the importance and dangers of remembering the past, while the early plays, written at the time of the Second World War, mark the emergence of a drama in which public issues are rooted in private anxieties and chart the beginning of Miller's career that was one of the most distinguished in dramatic history.

First produced in 1944 and revived in London in 2008, The Man Who Had All the Luck is a mesmerising drama in which the author's brilliance and characterstic qualities are already evident: 'Listen to the dialogue: no other American dramatist has this feel for the ordinary talk of ordinary people, or the knowledge of what they do. This is more than a writer's craft, it is a psychological and moral openness to humanity, an act not of imitating, but of sharing'. Sunday Times

'The greatest American dramatist of our age' Evening Standard

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Arthur Miller (1915-2005) was arguably the most important playwright of the twentieth century whose oeuvre includes plays, novels, screenplays, essays and an autobiography.

Country of Publication
Number of Pages

FREE Delivery on all Orders!