Hurry, item low in stock!

'A perfect, quirky summer page-turner. A life-affirming debut' The Sunday Times
'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh
'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read' Fabulous
'Funny, fresh and achingly tender. Richard's writing hooked me in from the very first page' Cathy Bramley

-------------------------

The most uplifting story of the summer - about Andrew, who has forgotten how to live, and Peggy, who helps him remember...

-------------------------

MEET ANDREW.

Everybody likes Andrew. But they don't really know him.

They know what he's told them - that he's happily married with two kids. Living the kind of life that's either so boring it's true, or so perfect it's a lie . . .

ENTER PEGGY.

Peggy arrives in Andrew's life in a burst of kindness and possibility. For the first time in ages, Andrew feels alive again. So now that he has everything to lose, can he risk it all and tell Peggy the truth?

A big-hearted story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose.

-------------------------

See what everyone is saying about this summer's most uplifting bestseller!



'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh

'I adored this! It warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together' Beth O'Leary

'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page

'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne

'A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!' Matt Dunn

'It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart' Gill Hornby

'Endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness' Caroline Smailes

'Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' Eleanor Brown

'A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story' Dinah Jefferies

Something to live for - Richard Roper

9781409185611
£ 3.39
Hurry only 2 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Something to live for
Author
Richard Roper
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Orion Books
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200723

'A perfect, quirky summer page-turner. A life-affirming debut' The Sunday Times
'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh
'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read' Fabulous
'Funny, fresh and achingly tender. Richard's writing hooked me in from the very first page' Cathy Bramley

-------------------------

The most uplifting story of the summer - about Andrew, who has forgotten how to live, and Peggy, who helps him remember...

-------------------------

MEET ANDREW.

Everybody likes Andrew. But they don't really know him.

They know what he's told them - that he's happily married with two kids. Living the kind of life that's either so boring it's true, or so perfect it's a lie . . .

ENTER PEGGY.

Peggy arrives in Andrew's life in a burst of kindness and possibility. For the first time in ages, Andrew feels alive again. So now that he has everything to lose, can he risk it all and tell Peggy the truth?

A big-hearted story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose.

-------------------------

See what everyone is saying about this summer's most uplifting bestseller!



'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh

'I adored this! It warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together' Beth O'Leary

'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page

'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne

'A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!' Matt Dunn

'It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart' Gill Hornby

'Endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness' Caroline Smailes

'Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' Eleanor Brown

'A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story' Dinah Jefferies

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there.


Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.
BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019 - Rebecca Thomas

If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut.
FABULOUS - Claire Frost

I loved this novel with my whole heart.
THE NEW YORK TIMES

Endearing and delightful.
PRIMA - Nina Pottell

This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut.
SUNDAY TIMES STYLE - Sharmaine Lovegrove

This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read.
THE SUN - Natasha Harding

A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read.
WOMAN'S WEEKLY - Zoe West

Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read.
DAILY EXPRESS - Anne Cater

Eleanor Oliphant for men
EVENING STANDARD - David Sexton

This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm.
GQ - Thomas Barrie

Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness.
SUNDAY HERALD

It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up.
RED - Sarra Manning

A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once.
WOMAN'S OWN

A sweetly poignant debut.
SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE - Eithne Farry

A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour.
DAILY MAIL - Fanny Blake

Endearing.
SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE - Patricia Nicol

A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan.
WATERSTONES

Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.
Clare Mackintosh

Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!
Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY

Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.
Gill Hornby

Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.
Holly Bourne

Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together
Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE

Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness
Caroline Smailes

Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.
Libby Page, author of THE LIDO

Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters

A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed
Claire Frost

A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!
Matt Dunn

[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.
WALL STREET JOURNAL

Type
BOOK
Edition
1st paperback ed
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
360

FREE Delivery on all Orders!