IN EAST GERMANY, SOLVING A MURDER CAN GET YOU KILLED . . . A gripping and intelligent thriller set in East Germany, during the worst winter in one-hundred years. Perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Phillip Kerr and Joseph Kanon.____________________________________ In 1978 East Germany, nothing is as it seems. The state's power is absolute, history is re-written, and the 'truth' is whatever the Stasi say it is. So when a woman's murder is officially labelled 'accidental death', Major Karin Mller of the People's Police is faced with a dilemma. To solve the crime, she must disregard the official version of events. But defying the Stasi means putting her own life - and the lives of her young family - in danger. As the worst winter in living memory holds Germany in its freeze, Mller must untangle a web of state secrets and make a choice: between truth and lies, justice and injustice, and, ultimately, life and death. Stunningly authentic and brimming with moral ambiguity, Stasi Winter is the thrilling new novel from the award-winning author of Stasi Child.____________________________________ Praise for David Young: 'Excellent' The Times 'Thrilling' William Ryan 'Masterful' Daily Express 'Fast-paced' The Sun 'Superb. Reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross 'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee

Stasi winter - David Young

9781785765469
£ £2.59
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Stasi winter
Author
David Young
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Zaffre
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200109

IN EAST GERMANY, SOLVING A MURDER CAN GET YOU KILLED . . . A gripping and intelligent thriller set in East Germany, during the worst winter in one-hundred years. Perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Phillip Kerr and Joseph Kanon.____________________________________ In 1978 East Germany, nothing is as it seems. The state's power is absolute, history is re-written, and the 'truth' is whatever the Stasi say it is. So when a woman's murder is officially labelled 'accidental death', Major Karin Mller of the People's Police is faced with a dilemma. To solve the crime, she must disregard the official version of events. But defying the Stasi means putting her own life - and the lives of her young family - in danger. As the worst winter in living memory holds Germany in its freeze, Mller must untangle a web of state secrets and make a choice: between truth and lies, justice and injustice, and, ultimately, life and death. Stunningly authentic and brimming with moral ambiguity, Stasi Winter is the thrilling new novel from the award-winning author of Stasi Child.____________________________________ Praise for David Young: 'Excellent' The Times 'Thrilling' William Ryan 'Masterful' Daily Express 'Fast-paced' The Sun 'Superb. Reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross 'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

East Yorkshire-born David Young began his East German-set crime series on a creative writing MA at London's City University when Stasi Child - his debut - won the course prize. The novel went on to win the 2016 CWA Historical Dagger, and both it and the 2017 follow-up, Stasi Wolf, were longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. His novels have been sold in eleven territories round the world. Before becoming a full-time author, David was a senior journalist with the BBC's international radio and TV newsrooms for more than 25 years. He writes in his Twickenham garden shed and in a caravan on the Isle of Wight. The Stasi Game, his sixth novel, is available to pre-order now. You can follow him on Twitter @djy_writer

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
Germany (East) - Fiction.|Detective and mystery stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
354

FREE Delivery on all Orders!