'She is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths

The addictive new crime thriller featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

'DCI Matilda Darke is going places' James Oswald

Some cases won't die.
A young boy walks into a police station in France. He claims to be Carl Meagan - a missing child from Sheffield whose name is still whispered as a warning to kids who stay out after dark.

Some children won't be found.
On her way home from the supermarket, nine-year-old Keeley Armitage vanishes without trace. Her family is overcome with shock and DCI Matilda Darke can't help but focus on memories of the Carl Meagan case that almost ruined her career.

Some killers won't be stopped.
As Matilda investigates, she peels back the layers of grief and sadness that surround Keeley's family. Until she is left with an unimaginable choice: betray those closest to her or let a violent killer walk free

Stolen children - Michael Wood

9780008374860
£ 3.19
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Stolen children
Author
Michael Wood
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
One More Chapter
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20201210

'She is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths

The addictive new crime thriller featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

'DCI Matilda Darke is going places' James Oswald

Some cases won't die.
A young boy walks into a police station in France. He claims to be Carl Meagan - a missing child from Sheffield whose name is still whispered as a warning to kids who stay out after dark.

Some children won't be found.
On her way home from the supermarket, nine-year-old Keeley Armitage vanishes without trace. Her family is overcome with shock and DCI Matilda Darke can't help but focus on memories of the Carl Meagan case that almost ruined her career.

Some killers won't be stopped.
As Matilda investigates, she peels back the layers of grief and sadness that surround Keeley's family. Until she is left with an unimaginable choice: betray those closest to her or let a violent killer walk free

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

Praise for Michael Wood:

'A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending' Katerina Diamond

"An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists - you won't see them coming!" Stephen Booth

'A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it' Matt Hilton

'Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens' Rachel Sargeant

'Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman's Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn' Chris Whitaker

'Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman's Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish' Chris Simms

'Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman's noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman's Hold is going to be big…' Neil Broadfoot

Praise for Michael Wood:

'You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke' Yrsa Sigurdardottir

'She is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths

'A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace' Paul Finch

'Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley' Mark Edwards

'DCI Matilda Darke is going places' James Oswald

'A compelling, addictive read, it's hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth' Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

'A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations' Sarah Ward

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
Detective and mystery stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
400

FREE Delivery on all Orders!