Hurry, item low in stock!

Everyone's welcome at The Afternoon Tea Club

Marjorie, Stacy, Raymond and Dora each hold a different story to their chest - lost loves, abandoned dreams, crippling self-confidence issues, and simply feeling invisible. For each of them, the thought of letting those stories out is almost as terrifying as letting strangers in, and that makes for a very lonely life indeed.

But when these four strangers who have struggled to "fit in" end up on the same table for an event at their local community centre, little do they know that their lives are about to be entwined and changed forever because of an Afternoon Tea club.

Cue an unexpected journey of self-discovery, some unlikely new companions, and plenty of tea and biscuits along the way

Heart-warming and poignant in equal measure, this is a story about loneliness, kindness, and the power of friendships that span generation, proving that the most simple of human connections unite us all. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village and The Keeper of Lost Things.

** Praise for Jane Gilley **

'Without a doubt, readers will be charmed by the many colourful characters and their relationships with each other.'

'This delightful book will enchant any reader who has a soul.'

'Fans of A Man Called Ove and Three Things About Elsie will find comfortable, enjoyable ground here.'

'It would make a great and inspired book club read.'

'A beautiful, charming, witty story'

'This is a novel that perhaps we all need to read. It is a realistic look into aging with humour and some sadness, that all too many often forget to see.'

'A lesson on how to live life!'

The afternoon tea club - Jane Gilley

9780008308650
£ 3.19
Hurry only 2 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The afternoon tea club
Author
Jane Gilley
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Avon
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200402

Everyone's welcome at The Afternoon Tea Club

Marjorie, Stacy, Raymond and Dora each hold a different story to their chest - lost loves, abandoned dreams, crippling self-confidence issues, and simply feeling invisible. For each of them, the thought of letting those stories out is almost as terrifying as letting strangers in, and that makes for a very lonely life indeed.

But when these four strangers who have struggled to "fit in" end up on the same table for an event at their local community centre, little do they know that their lives are about to be entwined and changed forever because of an Afternoon Tea club.

Cue an unexpected journey of self-discovery, some unlikely new companions, and plenty of tea and biscuits along the way

Heart-warming and poignant in equal measure, this is a story about loneliness, kindness, and the power of friendships that span generation, proving that the most simple of human connections unite us all. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village and The Keeper of Lost Things.

** Praise for Jane Gilley **

'Without a doubt, readers will be charmed by the many colourful characters and their relationships with each other.'

'This delightful book will enchant any reader who has a soul.'

'Fans of A Man Called Ove and Three Things About Elsie will find comfortable, enjoyable ground here.'

'It would make a great and inspired book club read.'

'A beautiful, charming, witty story'

'This is a novel that perhaps we all need to read. It is a realistic look into aging with humour and some sadness, that all too many often forget to see.'

'A lesson on how to live life!'

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Jane Gilley was born in Nottingham and now lives on the beautiful island of Jersey with her husband, a rabbit and a Senegal parrot. Following a career in Interior Design, she now writes full-time.

** Readers LOVE Jane Gilley **

'It is a feel good hug of a book with wonderful relatable characters and a storyline that will make you smile from ear to ear. Absolutely delightful.'

'I loved this book. It's an easy read, and the characters are relatable, but the message - essentially carpe diem - is deep. Highly recommended.'

'Such a beautifully written novel'

'If you enjoyed reading A Man Called Ove and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, you will definitely like this book. It touches on a huge spectrum of topics, not just focusing on what you would imagine by its title.'

'An endearing "coming out of hibernation" story - as opposed to a coming-of-age story!'

'I grew to love the characters like they were real people and I'll miss reading about them.'

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
368

FREE Delivery on all Orders!