'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie
'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of
The Hare with Amber Eyes
Mary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments when Will casually asks her what she's reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they are reading the same books so they can have something to talk about in the hospital waiting room. Their choices range from classic ( Howards End ) to popular ( The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo ), from fantastic ( The Hobbit ) to spiritual (Jon Kabat-Zinn), with many in between. We hear their passion for reading and their love for each other in their intimate and searching discussions.
A profoundly moving testament to the power of love between a child and parent, and the power of reading in our lives.

The End of Your Life Book Club - Will Schwalbe

9781444706376
£ 11.99
5 in Stock
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The End of Your Life Book Club - a mother, a son and a world of books
Author
Will Schwalbe
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Two Roads
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20121011

'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie
'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of
The Hare with Amber Eyes
Mary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments when Will casually asks her what she's reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they are reading the same books so they can have something to talk about in the hospital waiting room. Their choices range from classic ( Howards End ) to popular ( The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo ), from fantastic ( The Hobbit ) to spiritual (Jon Kabat-Zinn), with many in between. We hear their passion for reading and their love for each other in their intimate and searching discussions.
A profoundly moving testament to the power of love between a child and parent, and the power of reading in our lives.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing for many years.
He is the author of the international bestseller, The End of Your Life Book Club and co-author (with David Shipley) of Send: Why People Email So Badly and How to Do It Better .
He has also worked in digital media, and was the founder of Cookstr.com. As a journalist he wrote for the New York Times and the South China Morning Post .
He lives in New York City.
twitter.com/willsch
facebook.com/will.schwalbe
pinterest.com/willschwalbe
instagram.com/willschwalbe

Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done.
Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra

I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do.
Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes

a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader.
Salon

a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived.

What self-respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more.

a moving and inspiring story

This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it.

An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions.
Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness

an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work.

At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love.
Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You

A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page.
Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper

Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more.
J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar

A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son.

a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie

Curious Book Fans

A truly poignant read . . . a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction.

Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother
Vogue.com

Type
BOOK
Edition
Export ed
Keyword Index
Book clubs (Discussion groups) - United States.|Pancreas - Cancer - Patients - Family relationships.|Mothers and sons - United States.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
352

FREE Delivery on all Orders!