The girl from the corner shop - Alrene Hughes

9781788544009
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The girl from the corner shop
Author
Alrene Hughes
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Head of Zeus
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200206

A heartbroken young widow joins the police force during World War Two in Manchester. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe and Dilly Court.

WW2 Manchester. Newlyweds Helen and Jim Harrison have big plans - to leave the family shop where Helen works and set up home together. But when Jim is tragically killed in an air raid, Helen is heartbroken, her life in ruins.

Battling grief and despair, Helen resolves to escape her domineering mother and rebuild her shattered world. Wartime Manchester is a dangerous place, beseiged by crime and poverty. So when Helen joins the Women's Auxiliary Police Corps, working with evacuees, the destitute and the vulnerable, she finds a renewed sense of purpose. She's come a long way from her place behind the counter in the corner shop.

But there's still something missing in her heart. Is Helen able to accept love and happiness and find the courage to change her life?

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Alrene Hughes grew up in Belfast and has lived in Manchester for most of her adult life. She worked for British Telecom and the BBC before training as an English teacher. After teaching for twenty years, she retired and now writes full-time.

PRAISE FOR THE GIRL IN THE PINK RAINCOAT:

'Difficult to put down ... A strong and riveting story' Historical Novel Society.

'I LOVE The Girl in the Pink Raincoat. It's engaging and entertaining' Bits About Books.

'Absolutely a full five stars!' Grace J Reviewer Lady.

'I love a romance set in war time and this was amazing. I cannot recommend it highly enough' Chells and Books.

'A beautiful and powerful novel not only about a young woman and a first love ... An outstanding novel that I highly recommend!' Dandelions Inspired.

Type
BOOK
Edition
1st paperback ed
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - England - Manchester - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
437

FREE Delivery on all Orders!