The next heartwarming saga novel from Eileen Ramsay, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Donna Douglas.1930s Scotland.Growing up in a convent in Glasgow, Ferelith Gallagher dreams of bigger and better things. With no money behind her, and no family to speak of, she travels to Edinburgh to study to be a lawyer - a brave choice for a woman in the 1930s. And when she falls in love with a young fellow student, she thinks she's finally found a home.But after a brief and disastrous marriage, Ferelith swears she is through with love, and buries herself in her studies, striving to become the first female senior advocate in Scottish history. But when she finally meets a man she knows she could be happy with, Ferelith finds herself torn between love and her career.When war breaks out, she knows life will never be the same again . . .Previously published as The Quality of Mercy.

The Glasgow girl at war - Eileen Ainsworth Ramsay

9781785762192
£ 3.39
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The Glasgow girl at war
Author
Eileen Ainsworth Ramsay
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Zaffre
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20201210

The next heartwarming saga novel from Eileen Ramsay, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Donna Douglas.1930s Scotland.Growing up in a convent in Glasgow, Ferelith Gallagher dreams of bigger and better things. With no money behind her, and no family to speak of, she travels to Edinburgh to study to be a lawyer - a brave choice for a woman in the 1930s. And when she falls in love with a young fellow student, she thinks she's finally found a home.But after a brief and disastrous marriage, Ferelith swears she is through with love, and buries herself in her studies, striving to become the first female senior advocate in Scottish history. But when she finally meets a man she knows she could be happy with, Ferelith finds herself torn between love and her career.When war breaks out, she knows life will never be the same again . . .Previously published as The Quality of Mercy.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Eileen Ramsay grew up in Dumfriesshire. After graduation she went to Washington DC, where she taught in private schools for some years, before moving to California with her Scottish husband. There, she raised two sons, finished her Masters Degree, fell in love with Mexico, and published her first short stories and a Regency novel.

The family returned to Scotland where Eileen continued to teach and write and to serve - at different times - on the committees of The Society of Authors in Scotland, The Scottish Association of Writers and The Romantic Novelists Association. In 2004, her novel SOMEDAY, SOMEWHERE was shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year award. Eileen is currently Chair of the Romantic Novelists' Association.

As always, Ramsay's prose is vivid and flowing, and the pages just fly by
Choice, on Eileen Ramsay's previous work

The beautiful Scottish setting only adds to this poignant and poetic journey . . . as unique as it is exquisite
Daily Record, on Eileen Ramsay's previous work

An unpredictable ending, a few surprises along the way and several tear jerkers - I enjoyed every minute of it
Historical Novel Review, on Eileen Ramsay's previous work

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - Scotland - Glasgow - Fiction.|Glasgow (Scotland) - History - 20th century - Fiction.|Edinburgh (Scotland) - History - 20th century - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
388

FREE Delivery on all Orders!