A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson. 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk MysteryBiddy Weir is a quirky girl.Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by. That is, until she meets Alison Flemming.Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world.All of a sudden, Biddy's quiet life is thrown into turmoil. If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird . . . A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel.PRAISE FOR THE LONELY LIFE OF BIDDY WEIR"A wonderful debut: poignant, powerful and moving, with ripples of dark humour." Colin Bateman"I'm a little bit in love with Biddy Weir. In her, Lesley Allen has created a character who is the embodiment of all our adolescent insecurities" Bernie McGill, author of The Butterfly Cabinet"In Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen has created one of those characters that gets under your skin and won't leave . . . A must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about life and where we fit in" Doreen Finn, author ofMy Buried Life"One of my favourite reads this year . . . raw, real and authentic . . . You will be enthralled" Bibliomaniac"Truly uplifting . . . I can not believe this is Lesley Allen's debut novel" Steph and Chris's Book Review

The lonely life of Biddy Weir - Lesley Allen

9781785770388
£ 2.69
3 in Stock
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The lonely life of Biddy Weir
Author
Lesley Allen
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Twenty7
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20161103

A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson. 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk MysteryBiddy Weir is a quirky girl.Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by. That is, until she meets Alison Flemming.Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world.All of a sudden, Biddy's quiet life is thrown into turmoil. If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird . . . A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel.PRAISE FOR THE LONELY LIFE OF BIDDY WEIR"A wonderful debut: poignant, powerful and moving, with ripples of dark humour." Colin Bateman"I'm a little bit in love with Biddy Weir. In her, Lesley Allen has created a character who is the embodiment of all our adolescent insecurities" Bernie McGill, author of The Butterfly Cabinet"In Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen has created one of those characters that gets under your skin and won't leave . . . A must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about life and where we fit in" Doreen Finn, author ofMy Buried Life"One of my favourite reads this year . . . raw, real and authentic . . . You will be enthralled" Bibliomaniac"Truly uplifting . . . I can not believe this is Lesley Allen's debut novel" Steph and Chris's Book Review

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Lesley Allen lives in Bangor, County Down, with her teenage daughter. She is a freelance copywriter and the press officer and programme developer for Open House Festival. Lesley was named as one of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland's 2016 Artist Career Enhancement recipients for literature. She will be using the award to complete her second novel.

I can't describe effectively how heart-warming this book is. I really don't want to spoil this book; it's such a lovely read, so will say no more about the plot and just urge you to download it and read it right away.
Trexes and Tiaras Book Blog

I am reluctant to say anything that isn't exceptionally effusive about this book...You will be enthralled. It is a captivating read and Allen's prose is impressive. This is her debut and I can't wait to read more of her writing - she is clearly talented and full of imagination and talent
Bibliomaniac UK Book Blog

There's an innocence to Biddy, that I think is what makes this book special and not just another book about bullying. She goes about her life, believing what other people think of her. I've never seen a character quite like her. This is a truly beautiful book
The Whispering of Pages Book Blog

In your life, you always hope to come across books that leave an indelible mark on you. The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is such a book...I truly and very strongly believe that this novel should be mandatory in every post-primary educational system....everywhere. If there was a 6* rating I would give it
Swirl and Thread Book Blog

Allen uses the frame of a daytime-TV chatshow to provide Biddy with a platform to tell her own story, after years of self-hatred, self-harm and a suicide attempt. If the reader fears that Biddy is about to subject herself to the savage appetite of reality TV, Allen adds a sudden twist that ensures that Biddy gets both revenge and justice for everything that she has suffered
The Irish Times

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is a beautiful story with many different layers. It's a thought-provoking novel. It's honest and raw and there's no sugarcoating, what happens to Biddy is something that easily could have happened in real life. I hope all 'Biddies' in the world will meet someone good who makes them find their true value again. I think The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is an absolute must-read and I highly recommend this brilliant book
With Love for Books

This is an excellent book, a very poignant and uncomfortable at times but very worthy of your interest. I recommend it wholeheartedly
The Addiction of Books

I loved this book, even though I hated the subject matter (...)This was a very brave novel to write, its not a standard (...) For a first novel, I think it is outstanding. I am delighted that Biddy found Lesley
The Boozy Bookworm

This book was so well written (...) Not just a book about bullying, this is a roller-coaster emotional read which left me wrung out and in need of a new box of tissues
Rosie Amber Book Reviews

I urge everyone to read this book...mostly it will leave you wanting to be that little bit nicer to people. It will make you want to hug your children and teach them about friendship and love. I was sobbing as I turned the last page in this book. Life was difficult for poor Biddy Weir but I am all the better for knowing her. Thank you Lesley Allen! This book is one of my favourite reads of 2016 and I highly recommend it
Brook Cottage Books

Haunting, heartbreakingly poignant, and exceptionally thought-provoking (...) It was a real pleasure and honour to read
Whats Better Than Books

What I didn't realise was how beautifully and powerfully written this book would be. An emotional, powerful and beautifully written book about life, re-birth, bullying and learning how to love yourself, quirks and all
The Writing Garnet

It is not often that I read a novel, and the character continues to live with me, but Biddy Weir did. For a first novel, I think it is outstanding. I am delighted that Biddy found Lesley
The Boozy Bookworm

Deeply sad. Matter-of-fact. Illuminating.a deeply affecting tale of a life brutally and permanently scarred by bullying. It's ultimately beautiful and even uplifting. Recommended
Buried Under Books

The relationship she has with her therapist Terri is lovely and I am glad she manages to bring Biddy out of her shell. A
beautifully poignant cover
Echoes in an Empty Room

Although I have read so many wonderful books this year, the one I only finished last week was by a local author Lesley Allen. Her book The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is an amazing and heart wrenching story of bullying and the effects it can have. It made me cry!
Brook Cottage Books - Rachel Dove

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
340

FREE Delivery on all Orders!