Hurry, item low in stock!

Some houses are NEVER at peace

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD
SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS' ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN

'A gothic gem of intrigue and atmosphere' HWA Debut Crown Judges

England, 1917

Reeling from the death of her fianc, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spellbinding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Praise for The Lost Ones:

'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel
reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks'
Sunday Times

'With wonderful characters This is a brilliantly gothic adventure - and the perfect winter page-turner' Sunday Mirror

'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer' OK!

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps'Lisa Hall

'If you liked The Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' Woman & Home

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould.Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

The lost ones - Anita Frank

9780008341237
£ 6.19
Hurry only 2 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The lost ones
Author
Anita Frank
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Mira
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20201015

Some houses are NEVER at peace

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD
SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS' ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN

'A gothic gem of intrigue and atmosphere' HWA Debut Crown Judges

England, 1917

Reeling from the death of her fianc, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spellbinding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Praise for The Lost Ones:

'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel
reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks'
Sunday Times

'With wonderful characters This is a brilliantly gothic adventure - and the perfect winter page-turner' Sunday Mirror

'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer' OK!

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps'Lisa Hall

'If you liked The Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' Woman & Home

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould.Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Anita Frank was born in Shropshire and studied English and American History at the University of East Anglia. She lives in Berkshire with her husband and three children and is now a full-time carer for her disabled son. This is her first novel.

Praise for The Lost Ones:

'A gothic gem of intrigue and atmosphere' Historical Writers' Association Debut Crown Judges

'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel … reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks'
Sunday Times

'With wonderful character … This is a brilliantly gothic adventure - and the perfect winter page-turner' Sunday Mirror

'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer' OK!

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps…'Lisa Hall

'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' Woman & Home

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould.Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

'The perfect read for dark, chilly winter evenings … This beautifully written gothic tale interlaces history, intrigue and atmosphere, and offers a fresh take on the classic ghost story tradition' Jane Bettany, Big Issue North

'Will send shivers down your spine … An eerie, emotionally supernatural tale' Sunday Express

'Dark and devilish' Sunday Post

'A spine-tingling gothic tale of family tragedy, loss and redemption'My Weekly

'Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly

Type
BOOK
Edition
1st paperback ed
Keyword Index
Great Britain - History - 20th century - Fiction.|Ghost stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
453

FREE Delivery on all Orders!