The name of the dog - Elmer Mendoza

9780857052636

Oops!

Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the musicMagpieStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The name of the dog
Author
Elmer Mendoza
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
MacLehose Press
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20180208

Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carr

"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.

It's Christmas in Culiacn and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son he knew nothing about. Happiness seems to finally beckon for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps-even as Mexico's drug war descends a slippery slope toward chaos.

While Lefty pursues a lunatic who has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy-calibre pistol, a secret agent infiltrates a meeting of the drug lords and hears Pacific Cartel boss Samantha Valds implore her underlings to stay out of the war. But an audacious murder provokes Samantha to change her mind and launch a wave of grisly killings across the country.

Samantha then persuades Lefty to help her find the killer that pushed her over the edge. The truth he discovers will underline an old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold. No quiet family Christmas for our detective.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

lmer Mendoza was born in Culiacn, Mxico in 1949. He is a professor and author, widely regarded as the founder of 'narco-lit', which explores drug trafficking and corruption in Latin America. He won the Jos Fuentes Mares National Literary Prize for Janis Joplin's Lover, and the Tusquets Prize for Silver Bullets.

Presents Mexico in a darkly surrealist light: corrupt politicos, a plague of narco-crime and only battered detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta on the side of the angels.
Independent. - Barry Forshaw

One of the biggest names in Mexican literature . . . A true novelist . . . No one has captured the exciting and passionate nature of the Mexican vernacular like him.
Arturo Prez-Reverte.

The literary representative of modern-day Mexico in its narco-incarnation . . . The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years.
Sunday Telegraph. - Gaby Wood

A vivid glimpse into an ultraviolent world of macho posturing, unorthodox policing and ruthless criminality.
Guardian. - Laura Wilson

If you are fed up with formulaic noir novels and looking for something fresher, lmer Mendoza . . . could be the answer.
Sunday Times. - John Dugdale

Essential reading.
Sunday Express. - Jake Kerridge

Mendoza's style is spare but fast-paced . . . As the plot moves along the reader is swept along with it. Lefty is a likeable character who has somehow managed to find a way to navigate through all the killing aided by a detachment which serves him well.
Irish Examiner. - Matthew Geden

Type
BOOK
Edition
C format original
Keyword Index
Mexico - Fiction.|Detective and mystery stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
240

FREE Delivery on all Orders!