Hurry, item low in stock!

The rosary garden - Nicola White

9781788164115
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The rosary garden
Author
Nicola White
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Viper
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20210121

*** WINNER OF THE DUNDEE INTERNATIONAL BOOK PRIZE ***'A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies' - VAL MCDERMID'As good as it gets' - DENISE MINA'An arresting new talent' - CHRIS BROOKMYRE________________________________________NOT EVERY CHILD IS A BLESSING...It was Ali who found the body of a murdered newborn baby, hidden in the garden of her convent school. In an Ireland riven by battles of religion and reproduction, the case becomes a media sensation, even as the church tries to suppress it. But this is not the first dead baby Ali has found.For Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine, the pressure to discover the identity of the dead child is little help against a community with secrets to protect. Gina knows all too well how many of Ireland's girls are forced to make difficult decisions in terrible circumstances, silenced by shame. Is Ali one of those girls? Because what evidence there is, points to Ali herself...A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain.________________________________________'A compulsive, page-turning crime novel' - DECLAN HUGHES'A vivid thriller. Engrossing right up to its sombre resolution' - IRISH INDEPENDENT'An unusual but absorbing twisting narrative... A superb debut' - IRISH TIMES

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Nicola White won the Scottish Book Trust New Writer Award in 2008 and in 2012 was Leverhulme Writer in Residence at Edinburgh University. The Rosary Garden won the Dundee International Book Prize, was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize, and selected as one of the four best debuts by Val McDermid at Harrogate. She grew up in Dublin and New York, and now lives in the Scottish Highlands.

A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies rising from the past to strangle the present
Val McDermid

An unusual but absorbingly twisting narrative is hugely enhanced by White's creation of Detective Swan, a complex man whose own frustrated paternal instincts ensure that a highly politicised case becomes very personal indeed. A superb debut
Irish Times

A vivid thriller. Engrossing right
up to its sombre resolution ... an arresting debut
Irish Independent

As good as it gets: a debut shot
through with the real, horrifying cruelty of true crime and a heart-race
ending
Denise Mina

A crime story with real purpose and conviction, hopefully the first of many from an arresting new talent
Christopher Brookmyre, author of Want You Gone

Like A Famished Heart, the first book in this excellent series, this novel is really a piece of quality literary fiction
Rachel Sargeant, author of The Perfect Neighbours

A moving, intelligent and courageous book - both a family story and a genuine thriller
A.L. Kennedy, author of Day

A compulsive, page-turning crime novel, a haunting slab of Irish family gothic and a moving study of a young woman coming of age in a society deeply unsympathetic to women. Nicola White writes beautifully, with wit, verve, a gift for scene-setting and a compassionate eye for the foibles of her characters
Declan Hughes, author of The Colour of Blood

Nicola White is a stupendous talent
Kate Simants, author of Lock Me In

Dazzling, exceptional
Brian Cox, Dundee International Book Prize judge

Type
BOOK
Edition
|Reprint
Keyword Index
Ireland - Fiction.|Detective and mystery stories.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
344

FREE Delivery on all Orders!