One guilty secret will tear her life apart...

After a series of heart-breaking miscarriages, Kate's marriage is hanging by a thread. When her husband Michael tells her he has shocking news, at first, she thinks the worst - he's been having an affair. It would explain why he's been so distant. Instead, he reveals that the daughter he abandoned twenty years ago is coming to stay.

Kate is blindsided by the sudden arrival of Imogen mere hours later. Her new stepdaughter is beautiful but troubled and seems wary of her own father. All the same, Kate is pleased to find herself connecting with Imogen, until one day, Imogen reveals a disturbing secret to her stepmother, making her swear never to tell a soul.

With Kate already keeping secrets of her own, she worries her marriage will crumble under the weight of another. But perhaps it's not Imogen's intrusion Kate should be worried about. Perhaps it's Michael's past she should have been looking at all along...

A completely addictive domestic suspense novel that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Stepdaughter, Amanda Robson and Adele Parks.

What readers are saying about The Stepmother:

'This elegantly written suspense novel quickly drew me in and transported me into the lives of Kate and Michael and their dysfunctional marriage... Compels the reader to keep turning the pages... A very satisfying and well-written novel.' M. M. DeLuca

'Loved this one! So easy to read and lots of twists and turns along the way. Definitely a quick read and one I recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this book, I was hooked from the first chapter and couldn't put it down, loads of twists & turns to keep one guessing' NetGalley Reviewer

'A marriage in tatters and a shocking surprise. This thriller is just that, thrilling until the end. Definitely not for the faint-hearted.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this story... It was well written and truly heartfelt... A great read that I would recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer

'An original domestic thriller telling the story of a stepmother caught between the rock and a hard place... Highly recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this book... A unique perspective on the step-parent spectrum. Carne really makes you think and question the secrets of her characters. The Stepmother is a great read.' NetGalley Reviewer

'This is a story of a marriage failing, death and life's drama. Well written and gripping. This is my first book by Ros Carne and look forward to her next book.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed it. There were enjoyable twists to keep me guessing and I'd definitely read more by this author in the future.' NetGalley Reviewer

The stepmother - Ros Carne

9781800323988
£ 3.29
5 in Stock
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The stepmother
Author
Ros Carne
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Canelo
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20210408

One guilty secret will tear her life apart...

After a series of heart-breaking miscarriages, Kate's marriage is hanging by a thread. When her husband Michael tells her he has shocking news, at first, she thinks the worst - he's been having an affair. It would explain why he's been so distant. Instead, he reveals that the daughter he abandoned twenty years ago is coming to stay.

Kate is blindsided by the sudden arrival of Imogen mere hours later. Her new stepdaughter is beautiful but troubled and seems wary of her own father. All the same, Kate is pleased to find herself connecting with Imogen, until one day, Imogen reveals a disturbing secret to her stepmother, making her swear never to tell a soul.

With Kate already keeping secrets of her own, she worries her marriage will crumble under the weight of another. But perhaps it's not Imogen's intrusion Kate should be worried about. Perhaps it's Michael's past she should have been looking at all along...

A completely addictive domestic suspense novel that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Stepdaughter, Amanda Robson and Adele Parks.

What readers are saying about The Stepmother:

'This elegantly written suspense novel quickly drew me in and transported me into the lives of Kate and Michael and their dysfunctional marriage... Compels the reader to keep turning the pages... A very satisfying and well-written novel.' M. M. DeLuca

'Loved this one! So easy to read and lots of twists and turns along the way. Definitely a quick read and one I recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this book, I was hooked from the first chapter and couldn't put it down, loads of twists & turns to keep one guessing' NetGalley Reviewer

'A marriage in tatters and a shocking surprise. This thriller is just that, thrilling until the end. Definitely not for the faint-hearted.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this story... It was well written and truly heartfelt... A great read that I would recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer

'An original domestic thriller telling the story of a stepmother caught between the rock and a hard place... Highly recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed this book... A unique perspective on the step-parent spectrum. Carne really makes you think and question the secrets of her characters. The Stepmother is a great read.' NetGalley Reviewer

'This is a story of a marriage failing, death and life's drama. Well written and gripping. This is my first book by Ros Carne and look forward to her next book.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I really enjoyed it. There were enjoyable twists to keep me guessing and I'd definitely read more by this author in the future.' NetGalley Reviewer

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Ros Carne was born in London, and following university she worked in magazine and newspaper journalism including as a theatre critic on the Guardian. She later retrained as a barrister, practising for 13 years before moving to a university teaching job. She has two adult sons and enjoys playing the violin. Ros now lives in Somerset where she writes full time.

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
Suspense fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
336

FREE Delivery on all Orders!