Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it's perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to 'do her bit'. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night . . .

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

Praise for Liz Trenow
'The characters shine . . . Fabulous' - Dinah Jefferies
'It was a wrench to put the book down after the last beautifully written page' - Gill Paul
'Trenow's exquisite novel puts a real focus on the characters' journeys' - Woman

Under a wartime sky - Liz Trenow

9781509879847
2 for 5 books summer used 5 for 10 books summer used
£ 2.99
Save big with our 2 for £5 on books multi-buy offer.
5 for £10 Books
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Under a wartime sky
Author
Liz Trenow
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Pan Books
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200220

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it's perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to 'do her bit'. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night . . .

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

Praise for Liz Trenow
'The characters shine . . . Fabulous' - Dinah Jefferies
'It was a wrench to put the book down after the last beautifully written page' - Gill Paul
'Trenow's exquisite novel puts a real focus on the characters' journeys' - Woman

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Liz Trenow is the author of several historical novels, including The Last Telegram, The Forgotten Seamstress, and The Poppy Factory. Liz's family have been silk weavers for nearly three hundred years, and she grew up in the house next to the mill in Suffolk, England, which still operates today, weaving for top-end fashion houses and royal commissions. This unique history inspired her first two novels and her fourth novel, The Silk Weaver.

Liz is a former journalist who spent fifteen years on regional and national newspapers, and on BBC radio and television news, before turning her hand to fiction. She lives in East Anglia, UK, with her artist husband, and they have two grown-up daughters.

Liz Trenow draws us in so that we inhabit her world, and it was a wrench to put the book down after the last beautifully written page
Gill Paul on The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - Great Britain - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
378

FREE Delivery on all Orders!