Various Artists - Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons

Vinyl new
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
Vinyl / 12" Album
Label / Studio
Moochin' About

The recordings on this album were made in Texas prison farms in July 1964. Bruce Jackson had gone there in the hope of recording black convict work-songs, a tradition that derived from slavery, and, before that, was imported from Africa. Whilst there, Bruce found far more than worksongs.

We are 5 Star rated on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) Raise 'Em Up Higher - Johnny Jackson (2.55)
2) Don't Look So Downhearted, Buddy - Marshall Phillips (1.23)
3) Move Along 'Gator - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (3.28)
4) Three Moore Brothers - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (5.04)
5) Assassination of the President - Johnnie H. Robinson & Eddie Ray Zachery (2.36)
6) Don't Be Uneasy - George White (1.50)
7) Rattler - Jessie 'G.I. Jazz' Hendricks & Matt Williams (5.16)
8) Hammer Ring - Johnny Jackson (1.25)
9) T.B. Bees - Louis 'Bacon & Porckchop' Houston (1.00)
10) If You See My Mother - Mack Maze (1.33)
11) Just Like a Tree Planted By the Water - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (3.50)
12) See How They Done My Lord - Houston Page (2.13)
13) Daniel in the Lion's Den - W.D. 'Alec' Alexander (4.17)
14) Fourt-four Hammers - Virgil Asbury (4.36)

Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons | Various Artists
Catalogue Number

FREE Delivery on all Orders!