Hurry, item low in stock!

Pietro Mascagni - 120 Years Deutsche Grammophon: The Golden Age of Shellac

Hurry only 2 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
Pietro Mascagni
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Deutsche Grammophon

The 120th anniversary of Deutsche Grammophon led to an initiative illuminating the very beginning of the recording industry: the legendary Shellac era, historically located between c. 1897 and the 1930s. This is a fascinating epoch of pioneering artists, courageous producers, smart technicians and engineers and truly a Golden Age of unprecedented musical innovation. This album presents the most culturally important of the rediscovered shellac tracks. Pietro Mascagni conducting his own works, including the captivating 'Intermezzo' from 'Cavalleria rusticana'; Caruso's baritone 'rival' Titta Ruffo singing 'Largo al factotum'; legendary violinist Vsa Prhoda performing Dvork and Elgar; Mozart tenor Julius Patzak performing Ottavio's aria from 'Don Giovanni'; and international stars like Louis Armstrong and Lale Andersen contribute some jazz standards. All tracks have been restored from original 'mother' or 'father' discs, digitised with state-of-the-art technology and carefully remastered to the highest standard. The album includes essential track documentation: artists, recording dates if traceable, and the original matrix and catalogue numbers.

We are 5 Star rated on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) Overture - Mitglieder Der Staatskapelle Berlin ()
2) No. 2 in E-flat Major - Raoul Koczalski ()
3) Alles Pflegt Schon Längst Der Ruh - Maria Muller/Städtisches Orchester Berlin ()
4) Intermezzo Sinfonico - Staatskapelle Berlin ()
5) Largo Al Factotum - Titta Ruffo ()
6) Salut D'amour, Op. 12 - Vasa Prihoda/Otto Graef ()
7) Von Der Freude Blumenkränzchen - Alda Noni/Orchester des Deutschen Opernhauses Berlin ()
8) Slavonic Dance in C Major, Op. 46, No. 1 - Staatskapelle Berlin ()
9) Dir, Dir, Jehova Will Ich Singen, BWV452 - Helmut Walcha/Thomanerchor Leipzig ()
10) Mariä Wiegenlied - Erna Berger/Staatskapelle Berlin ()
11) No. 7. Poco Lento E Grazioso - Vasa Prihoda/Otto Graef ()
12) Mes Amis, Écoutez L'histoire - Koloman Von Pataky ()
13) Folget Der Heißgeliebten - Julius Patzak ()
14) Am Grabe Anselmos, D504 - Tiana Lemnitz/Michael Raucheisen ()
15) Ein Rheinisches Mädchen - Heinrich Schlusnus/Johann Heidenreich ()
16) Ein Blumenstrauß Aus Nizza - Erna Sack/Staatskapelle Berlin ()
17) In the Distant Tropics (Hein Mück Aus Bremerhaven) - Lale Andersen ()
18) On the Sunny Side of the Street - Louis Armstrong & His Orchestra ()
19) Ick Wundere Mir Über Jarnischt Mehr - Otto Reutter ()
20) Man Müsste Klavier Spielen Können - Johannes Heesters ()
21) Tiger Rag - Louis Armstrong & His Ensemble ()

120 Years Deutsche Grammophon: The Golden Age of Shellac
Universal Music
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
120 Years Deutsche Grammophon: The Golden Age of Shellac | Pietro Mascagni
Catalogue Number

FREE Delivery on all Orders!