Hurry, item low in stock!
"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."Andrea Barrett
"A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalistsincluding the elusive young woman Ling-Limingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

Breaking the Tongue - Vyvyane Loh

9780393326543
£ £3.59
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Breaking the Tongue - A Novel
Author
Vyvyane Loh
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
W.W. Norton and Company
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20050609

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."Andrea Barrett
"A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalistsincluding the elusive young woman Ling-Limingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Vyvyane Loh was born in Malaysia and grew up in Singapore. She holds undergraduate and medical degrees from Boston University, and she graduated from the Warren Wilson College MFA Program for Writers. She now lives outside Boston.

Type
BOOK
Country of Publication
New York (State)
Number of Pages
416

FREE Delivery on all Orders!