Hurry, item low in stock!

The cranky ballerina - Elise Gravel

9780062351241
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The cranky ballerina
Author
Elise Gravel
format
Hardback
Publisher
HarperCollins Children's Books
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20160908

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada plis right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban's Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada's stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book-full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel's signature vibrant illustrations-is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet-and definitely those who don't-will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn't like in order to discover what she loves.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!, The Cranky Ballerina, The Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com.


This book will resonate with children, especially those who have yet to channel their misunderstood talents. A noteworthy addition for most collections. Fans of Gravel will get a kick out of this grouchy character.
School Library Journal

Praise for I LOVE MONSTERS: The abundance of rainbow-hued monsters suggests that Gravel probably had a grand time flinging darts at a color wheel.
Kirkus Reviews

Type
BOOK
Country of Publication
New York (State)
Number of Pages
32

FREE Delivery on all Orders!