Where there's daring, there's danger

Isabella Ashton has always been her father's favourite, but when she gets involved with the new Birth Control Movement, he is scandalised. A decade has elapsed since the end of the Great War and running a family planning clinic in Salford is challenging but rewarding work.

Bella is grateful for the help of Violet Howarth, a generous-hearted woman who takes her in off the street. Before long, a friendship with Violet's son, Dan, blossoms into the beginnings of love.

But Bella also crosses paths with handsome ne'er-do-well Billy Quinn, leader of an illegal betting ring, and everything she has worked for is suddenly put at risk.

This is a bewitching tale of drama, jealousy and the fight for women's rights, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries.

Praise for The Favourite Child

'Compelling and fascinating' Middlesborough Evening Gazette

'A revelation in telling us what it was like before women had rights' 5* Reader review

'One of those books that you can't put down, loved it' 5* Reader review

The favourite child - Freda Lightfoot

9781788637930
£ 3.09
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The favourite child
Author
Freda Lightfoot
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Canelo Saga
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200305

Where there's daring, there's danger

Isabella Ashton has always been her father's favourite, but when she gets involved with the new Birth Control Movement, he is scandalised. A decade has elapsed since the end of the Great War and running a family planning clinic in Salford is challenging but rewarding work.

Bella is grateful for the help of Violet Howarth, a generous-hearted woman who takes her in off the street. Before long, a friendship with Violet's son, Dan, blossoms into the beginnings of love.

But Bella also crosses paths with handsome ne'er-do-well Billy Quinn, leader of an illegal betting ring, and everything she has worked for is suddenly put at risk.

This is a bewitching tale of drama, jealousy and the fight for women's rights, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries.

Praise for The Favourite Child

'Compelling and fascinating' Middlesborough Evening Gazette

'A revelation in telling us what it was like before women had rights' 5* Reader review

'One of those books that you can't put down, loved it' 5* Reader review

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Sunday Times bestselling author Freda Lightfoot was born in Lancashire. She always dreamed of becoming a writer but this was considered a rather exotic ambition. She has been a teacher, bookseller in the Lake District, then a smallholder and began her writing career by publishing over forty short stories and articles before finding her vocation as a novelist. She has since written over forty-eight novels, mostly sagas and historical fiction. She now spends warm winters living in Spain, and the rainy summers in Britain.

Type
BOOK
Edition
Reprint
Keyword Index
Lancashire (England) - Social life and customs - 20th century - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
368

FREE Delivery on all Orders!