Hurry, item low in stock!


Even with the country at war, the show must go on...

After the tragic death of her father, aspiring singer Jessie Delaney has been forced to live with her bullying aunt and dreams of getting the break of a lifetime to escape. When she's cast as one of the Variety Girls in a new show at the Empire Theatre, Jessie hopes this is the new beginning she's been longing for. But following her dreams on stage will mean being separated from sweetheart Harry.

As she starts her new job, it's not long before she forms a close-knit friendship with Frances and Dolly, although the girls soon find that life in the theatre isn't always glamorous. And with the country on the brink of war, everyone is facing an uncertain future. Can friendship help Jessie through the challenges ahead?

A gritty and heartwarming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest and Daisy Styles.

The variety girls - Tracy Baines

9781529103809
£ £2.89
Hurry only 2 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
The variety girls
Author
Tracy Baines
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Ebury Press
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20200220


Even with the country at war, the show must go on...

After the tragic death of her father, aspiring singer Jessie Delaney has been forced to live with her bullying aunt and dreams of getting the break of a lifetime to escape. When she's cast as one of the Variety Girls in a new show at the Empire Theatre, Jessie hopes this is the new beginning she's been longing for. But following her dreams on stage will mean being separated from sweetheart Harry.

As she starts her new job, it's not long before she forms a close-knit friendship with Frances and Dolly, although the girls soon find that life in the theatre isn't always glamorous. And with the country on the brink of war, everyone is facing an uncertain future. Can friendship help Jessie through the challenges ahead?

A gritty and heartwarming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest and Daisy Styles.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

From the age of sixteen, Tracy worked summer seasons, pantomimes and everything else in-between at the local end of the pier show. She met her husband when he was appearing with the Nolan Sisters and she was Assistant Stage Manager. Her knowledge of the theatre world from both sides of the stage and the hierarchy that keeps the show running really bring this saga to life. She's also written articles and short stories for key publications for this audience including Woman's Weekly, Take a Break, The People's Friend and My Weekly.

Type
BOOK
Edition
Paperback original
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - Great Britain - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
483

FREE Delivery on all Orders!