How do I wipe or clear my iPhone before selling?

There are so many features on our iPhones that use our personal information, such as Apple Pay, iTunes, iCloud and many more. To make sure your private information isn’t accessed by anyone once you have traded in your iPhone, we encourage customers to prepare your device for selling by wiping and resetting it beforehand.

Are you upgrading soon? Sell your phone with musicMagpie and lock in the best price!

Scroll down to find out some easy tips on how to wipe your iPhone before selling!


How to wipe an iPhone to sell?

Before we tell you how to factory reset your phone, these are the main things you need to wipe from your iPhone before selling:

Unpair Apple Watch

It’s important that you disconnect your Apple Watch from your iPhone. Simply keep both devices next to each other and open the Apple Watch app on your iPhone. Go to the ‘My Watch’ tab and tap your watch on the screen and choose the information button. Then choose ‘unpair Apple Watch’.

When you unpair the devices, all the content and settings will be erased. However, you can back up this information if you want to. 

Want to make extra cash? Sell your old Apple Watch with musicMagpie today!


Sign out of iCloud

There are two ways to remove your iCloud account from your device. You can do this through your iPhone or through your PC and laptop. If you’re selling an iPhone which is iOS7 or higher, you need to remove your iCloud account before sending it to musicMagpie.

Remove iCloud account from your iPhone:

  • Select settings and tap ‘iCloud’
  • Choose your name
  • Scroll and choose ‘Find my iPhone’
  • Turn off ‘Find my iPhone’
  • Enter your Apple ID password 

Remove iCloud from your laptop or PC:

  • Switch off your device
  • Log in to iCloud.com using Apple ID
  • Choose ‘ Find my iPhone’
  • Select your device 
  • Choose ‘remove account’
  • You will get a confirmation message, choose ‘remove’

Turn off ’Find my iPhone’

It’s super easy to turn off ‘Find my iPhone’. Go to settings, then choose your name which is normally at the top of the settings list. Go to ‘Find My iPhone’ then there should be an option that says’ turn off my [device]’. Once you’ve chosen your phone, enter your Apple password and choose to turn off.


Remove cards from Apple Pay

It’s super important to delete your bank details off your iPhone! To remove a card, go to settings and choose ‘Wallet and Apple Pay’. Scroll down and find your card and choose ‘remove card’. Alternatively, you can delete any debit or credit cards using iCloud.com.


Remove iPhone from Apple ID

Go to settings on your iPhone and choose your name at the top. When you scroll down you’ll see a list of Apple devices that are connected to your account. Choose the device you want to remove and choose ‘remove from account’ and tap again for confirmation.


How to reset iPhone to sell?

If you want to completely erase your iPhone and are wondering “how do I wipe my iPhone before selling it?” follow these simple steps on how to reset your phone:

  1. Choose settings and general reset. Tap erase all content and settings
  2. Enter your passcode or Apple ID password. 
  3. It should take a few minutes to erase your data.

Looking to upgrade your phone? Sell your old iPhone with musicMagpie and save £100s on your next device with our great range of refurbished Phones.